Irregular Vowel Movements

A distance education teacher making her way in the microcosm of Barrhead.

Binds & Purpose- A Journey Down the Flight of Stairs that are My PD Efforts

Leave a comment

Yesterday, I thought to myself, “I could become an Ed Tech Teacher.” So far, my presentations on Ed Tech have been warmly received, and I haven’t had any complaints about the content or how the sessions themselves are run. I’ve been trying very hard to present concise, organized. and somewhat organic sessions (the organic aspect being my wish to indulge the scattered curiosity of my audience).  The numbers for the sessions have been small, but varied, with some repeat visitors wishing to learn more.

Today, I was fully anticipating that I would again have a small but eager group in my session, but much to my dismay, no one showed up, though the directions for VC and the time were clearly established and reinforced in the preceding weeks. I’m not going to say I’m disappointed because I put a tremendous amount of effort into the presentation itself, because that would be a lie. In all honesty, I can talk about tech tools backwards, forwards, sideways, and from the back-end (ha ha) off the top of my head. It probably sounds like I’m bragging, but it’s not even an ‘ability’, it’s just innate, I think.  I’ve been using Symbaloo dashboards  as props to get teachers exploring and experimenting on their own, and to further the possibilities of creative PLN options.

My plan for the presentation was more refreshing than usual, I thought, because I constructed kind of a mini-MOOC approach,  to facilitate the small amount of time provided as effectively and productively as possible.

No one showed up. Nary a person VC’d in, or stepped foot across the threshold, although someone may have looked in and said, “why are you looking at your Twitter feed on a Smartboard?”

This makes me assume the following:

1. The mandatory sessions are better taken in the afternoon — my time slot then being ‘not mandatory’, yet at the same time as the mandatory session was not preferable.

2. Maybe our teachers are overworked (ding-ding-ding!) and simply cannot make time for optional PD, no matter their interest.

A jaunt into bone-crushing pessimism:

3. As a speaker, maybe I don’t have the skills or the presence to draw people. It is possible that people don’t like listening or seeing me talk for reasons I am definitely not aware of.

4. Maybe I care too much?

5. Maybe I work with people who don’t care?

6. People are happy with a personal lack of progress.

7. I’m a discontent jerk (see #6 for this reasoning).

8. People are not ready yet.

9. I am still not mature enough to be some facsimile of a leader in this area.

 

 

Author: Kyla Coulman

English teacher at ADLC.

Leave a Reply

