Irregular Vowel Movements

A distance education teacher making her way in the microcosm of Barrhead.

Tiiiiiime….is not on my side, oh no it ain’t [is not!]

Leave a comment

When I started this blog, I thought to myself, “why would I have a paper schedule accounting for my daily activities when I could have an online ‘journal’ that I could use the same way, to show and reflect on my progress like an ever-lovin’ future teacher?”

In DL, I spend so much time on the internet every day that I figured this would take me five minutes every day. And it does when I’m terse and to the point (as I’m sure most other teachers are), but I’m finding reflective value in indulging my illness of the wordiness. So I’ve figured it out. I will need to do something daily on paper, OR, do something daily on my blog. I need consistency! I need to use my time in military fashion and take five minutes every day to do this. The best time, I think, is right after I get through the morning e-mail glut. Yup.

In other news, PD has been rearing its head lately. I have to admit too, that if I had more time to devote to it, I would, because I secretly love PD. Is it obvious? I think it’s because I was removed from University too early. And, I love the idea of teaching sessions to my peers, but I’ll admit I’m also secretly terrified. Teaching teenagers is a breeze, but instructing adults seems daunting. I don’t know why, but it does. I tend to perform well when terrified though, so whatever happens, I’m sure it will all work out.

Work for the rest of the week: Finish WB 5 (2 assignments to go), and in my own time, re-vamp the PD blog. The feedback I’ve gotten back about publicizing it has been pleasing, and I have already thought about a work-around for confidentiality of previous blog commentators.  One thing is certain, I have to be started on WB 6 by Monday (and work like the wind).

 

Author: Kyla Coulman

English teacher at ADLC.

Leave a Reply

