Irregular Vowel Movements

A distance education teacher making her way in the microcosm of Barrhead.

An Assignment Query

Leave a comment

A while ago, I had previewed the idea of using comics as part of instruction in the workbooks. I have to say too, the more I do this, the more I like it. I had thought it would be beneficial to do the review of story elements in comic form, and while it’s untested (as is the whole elephant of a course), it has a pleasingly subtle and fluid feel to it. In the past, whenever I feel as though I have “tricked” students into learning, it usually means I’m doing something right.

I’m concerned however, because I have been using screen captures from Pixton (i.e. not paying), and while they can be read with no problems on a page, I am concerned about the quality of them biting me in the butt. If the magic design lady looks at them and says, “nope, can’t use those”, I’m going to have a problem because of all the time I invested into making them…and because they are infinitely cooler than, “so then, there’s this other thing called setting. Setting is defined as…blah blah blah.” It could be a majorly stupid set back.  On top of that, there are not really any other good alternatives that work as well as Pixton that I have found.

Thoughts?

Oh yeah, progress? I need to have Workbook 5 done by the end of the week. So far, this is looking doubtful, but I’m still feeling determined, so that is a good sign.

 

 

Author: Kyla Coulman

English teacher at ADLC.

Leave a Reply

