Irregular Vowel Movements

A distance education teacher making her way in the microcosm of Barrhead.

When Monday is actually Tuesday

Leave a comment

I sleep in late, and pull into work at precisely 8:01. Yet, it is better late than never, right? Today, I am hoping to get the theory portion of graphic novels out of the way, and hopefully finish the first assignment in WB 5, in totality, so that all I am doing on Wednesday is hammering out exemplars, and moving on. I’m realizing as I go that exemplars take the most work. It is a) hard to emulate a convincing 20-2 “voice” from a perspective trained to be perfect in grammar, syntax and spelling forever and b) tough to make an engaging exemplar.

On the topic of engagement, something we haven’t spoken about profusely is just how time-consuming it can be to make those pieces. It is the desire for engagement in learners that delays a process. I can’t help but think this is something that needs to be taken into further consideration when talking about development schedules. Ranty-ranty!

On the topic of development, another thought that had occurred to me recently was just how in-organic a process it ends up being at work. What happens currently, is that I write workbooks, and end up starting and stopping a lot in mid-write, due to peer-review coming back and needing to deal with initial edits on previous workbooks. When that’s done, I send off the workbook to the magic format  lady, and then at last, I settle down and do some more writing on the workbook I was interrupted with to begin with. Oh but wait, then the changes need to be made to the magic format lady’s work. I have to go through and do more editing, and point out redundancies that happen when people aren’t reading what they’re copying and pasting into a magic format program. Interruption, interruption, interruption..

I think it would be effective to lay off and let the course writer write. We’re constantly schooled up to this point in life on the process being “plan”, “rough draft”, “edit”, “final draft”, and I know that process doesn’t work for a lot of people, but it sure works for me. I did the planning, but the rough draft stuff can’t just flow with all the interruptions. Peer review and editing are two vital processes, and inevitably, they would be done at one point, but why not let the writer get all the workbooks done before sending them off for everything in that next stage? Peer review, magic format lady, and my changes? At least then, the writer could focus their whole brain on that process and have all the rough work in front of them to regard the big picture. It would be easier to focus on eradicating inconsistencies throughout the whole course, because we wouldn’t constantly be battling time for writing that still isn’t done.

The second part of the editing process could be when things go to magic format lady…dealing with that extremely frustrating experience in one fell swoop would be better than dreading the next random encounter (as I do now).

In my mind, having the process be more fluid would be better, said the totally behind schedule girl.

Author: Kyla Coulman

English teacher at ADLC.

Leave a Reply

