Irregular Vowel Movements

A distance education teacher making her way in the microcosm of Barrhead.

What We Have Here is a Failure to Communicate: Updated

Leave a comment

Update: I got over being grumpy and thought instead on how to make my work on Symbaloo more portable and feasible for any kind of teacher to access. I came up with an effort that basically bastardizes and bends Symbaloo to my will, in that I made a portal that leads to every single gallery I have ever dreamed up and added to. Some galleries are sparsely populated and works in progress, but I know now that this is succinct, easy to update, and no longer a scary glut of links to pass around.

Galleries range in flavour from English, Social Studies, Math & Science, CTS, English Language Learning, Student services, Research and Innovation (personal PD resources), and more. There is even room for expansion!

Back in June, I started getting some media integrated into my life. And I have to say, I did a pretty good job of it. My efforts consisted of making my Twitter account less rusty, and putting effort into doing some things around the office and cyberspace that I felt would both benefit my personal growth as well as benefit the people I work with. I created a massive data base on Symbaloo consisting of 15+ pages of GUI links specifically sorted out for various facets of our school. This took a lot of care and effort. I had it in my mind that this would be a very valuable contribution to our staff for the fall, especially teachers who are looking for new tools and ideas for students. This could be our own teachers at ADLC and these could be things we shared with team teachers in a way that would help their own pedagogical growth, and our own. 

If anyone is interested, or feels I should continue/discontinue, let me know by commenting on this blog.

Author: Kyla Coulman

English teacher at ADLC.

Leave a Reply

