Irregular Vowel Movements

A distance education teacher making her way in the microcosm of Barrhead.

It’s so darn nice out right now…

Leave a comment

Plans for the week: Right now, I am working to complete my English 20-2 course development blueprint. It is my goal by the end of the week to have all the ground work done so that I may start mapping out my units, learning components and assignments by next week. This means that by the end of this week, I will have finished prioritizing my learning outcomes for English 20-2, and will have made a positive step forward in mapping out how my course is going to look. I am also hoping to have themes and texts to use straightened out by the end of the week. My blueprint is “due” on October 14th, 2011.

Tasks Planned for the day: Finish up prioritizing outcomes, and figure out my themes for the course. This is going to be tricky, because there should be one overall “umbrella” kind of theme to the course with several fitting as sub-themes below it. I’ve been trying to wrap my mind around this with copious notes.

Thoughts: This should be pretty straightforward, though I will need to get these  definitions proofed by the department and my scant amount of peer reviewers. Hopefully by the end of the day, I can give a list of my prioritized outcomes and a list of thematic ideas to them so I can get the ball rolling as soon as possible on Tuesday [1]

Anticipated Activity: I will finish prioritizing my outcomes list (long), and examine themes in the guide to implementation for English 20-2, to see if I can’t get a head start on the unit definition.

Accomplishments and Developments: Who knows……?

[1] I am going to be working on my blueprint while I am away on “holiday.” Deadlines freak me out (in a good way).

Author: Kyla Coulman

English teacher at ADLC.

Leave a Reply

